Here in America the time has rolled around to celebrate our nation’s birthday.  That means parades, picnics, time with family and FIRECRACKERS.

Firecrackers are nothing but noise makers, and frankly they scare the beejeezus out of me.

In our neighborhood the firecracker fanaticism starts the first week of June.  It’ll continue for another couple of weeks after the 4th.  Usually they’re heard at dusk, but today, about an hour ago, in the middle of the afternoon, the neighbors behind us got out the rockets and the M80s and their lighter.  I’m still in hiding!

Mom has read a couple of things on line about what to do to protect or help your dog when it comes to loud noises.  One suggestion was some ridiculous natural oil or something, which totally isn’t available in a small town like ours.  There are “shirts”, and towels, and beds, and tricks to desensitizing dogs.  Look it up online.  There are tons of suggestions.

My favorite way of dealing?  I hide behind mom’s chair.  There’s a nine or so inch gap between her recliner and the wall and I squeeze my big body in there.  When I get tired of that I move to the bathroom.  But that’s no so comfortable a spot, so then I move to the gap between the side of the couch and the wall.  A small, covered space works best.

Now that the neighbors have the noise makers out, and the motorcycles are rumbling on the streets, and the ever present ambulance and police sirens are going (for a small town, there sure are a lot of sirens around here!) mom knows she won’t be able to get me out for a walk today.  I won’t do it.  It’s too loud outside our quiet house and there’s nothing that’s going to make me leave it.

Stay safe everyone, this holiday season.  And take cover because the noise might get you!  😉

 

Photo credit:  free2use-it.com

